You pay absolutely no up-front costs and we won’t charge you until after we’ve resolved your case.
In the personal injury industry, this is often called a “contingency fee” agreement because the attorney fee is “contingent” upon settlement of the case.
It is very common and essentially all personal injury firms offer it. What is very UNCOMMON in the industry, however, are our Good Attorney reduced contingency fees that we determine on a case-by-case basis.
Please call for a consultation, case analysis, and quote.
How much is my case worth?
This depends on several things but the seriousness of your injuries is usually the biggest factor.
We look at the following to guide our analysis of your case:
-Past medical bills -Future medical bills -Lost wages -Loss of earning capacity -Pain, suffering, and effect on your life
The law (and the legal and claims process) attempt to make you “whole” again. This means that supposedly there is an amount of money that compensates you completely for a harm that someone negligently caused you. Unfortunately, we find that for our clients money is rarely a substitute for health and peace of mind.
That said, we work tirelessly to maximize your financial recovery which, generally speaking, correlates loosely with your level of pain, your medical bills (whether paid or unpaid, paid by insurance or paid out of pocket), and your lost wages and income potential.
How soon after an accident or an injury should I contact Good Attorney?
There are several things that you 1) should do, and 2) should not do in the days and weeks and months after an accident. These things can make a difference in your settlement. Our contingent fee will likely be the same, whether you contact Good Attorney one day after the accident or one year after the accident.
The sooner we are on the case, the better we can guide you. If we find your case is very simple and we believe you could handle your own claim (without a contingent attorney fee), we will tell you. With our core values of Integrity, Service, and Advocacy, we hope you will feel comfortable calling sooner than later for free advice and consultation.
Do I have to sue anybody?
This is a very common question. So many of our clients want to know if they’ll have to sue anybody because they don’t want to. The good news is that the majority of cases never require a lawsuit.
In fact, what is required is a knowledgeable legal team to navigate the complex insurance claims process on your behalf, all the while maintaining the option of initiating suit if the at-fault insurance carrier undervalues your case or fails to negotiate in good faith. The client always chooses whether or not to file suit and Good Attorney will never take significant action on your case that isn’t first discussed with and approved by the client.
What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance?
Under Utah’s “no-fault” or “Personal Injury Protection” law, drivers are required to have at least $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. This insurance pays your lost wages and/or your medical bills after an accident, no matter who was at fault. We recommend Utah drivers carry more than $3,000 in PIP, since as you know, $3,000 doesn’t cover much in the world of emergency or ongoing medical care.
And the good news is that increasing your PIP coverage doesn’t usually add much, relatively speaking, to your insurance premium. Consider a typical situation: Your truck is hit in an intersection by a car that doesn’t stop at a stop sign (failure to yield and failure to look out). You suffer lacerations and abrasions all over your body.
Your body hurts but you’re not even sure exactly where because you only know it’s difficult to move. You likely have a concussion but all you know is that you can’t think clearly. You’re not even sure you remember exactly what happened. EMTs decide you need to be taken to the nearest emergency department by ambulance.
You spend over five hours with emergency medicine providers where your spine is x-rayed, you’re referred for a CT scan and then an MRI, due to concerns of a brain injury. We know from experience that the bill from just day #1 after the accident, is well over $10,000. These costs must be paid by you and/or your health insurance (if they are not covered by PIP). Any payment from settlement with the at-fault driver’s insurance could be months or even years away, depending on the complexity of the case.
Should I have uninsured and underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) insurance coverage?
Unfortunately, Utah law requires drivers carry a minimum of only $25,000 per injured person. Too often, our Good Attorney clients learn that an at-fault driver’s “minimum” coverage doesn’t come close to making them “whole” again—even in moderately severe cases.
UM/UIM coverage is a must-have, for relatively little increased cost in your premium, that allows your own insurance to cover damages resulting from injuries when the at-fault driver’s coverage is insufficient. If you were severely injured in an accident, had a mountain of medical bills and months or years of missed work, where would you turn for financial recovery—since you can’t count on all Utah drivers carrying sufficient coverage?
An EXTREMELY important note on UIM: this can be a tricky area of the claims process and the law governing it. Certain steps are required that allow an injured person to pursue a claim under UIM—and conversely, that disallow a claim if not done properly. Good Attorney strongly encourages you to seek assistance from an experienced personal injury attorney if you have any indication your financial damages have or will exceed the at-fault driver’s policy limits.
What is MMI?
At some point during the treatment of your injuries and your recovery, a physician could note that you’ve reached maximum medical improvement, or “MMI.” This doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve recovered completely or that you are as healthy as you were prior to your injuries, but simply means the physician believes that further medical treatment will no longer net results. At this point, Good Attorney obtains any medical documentation not already received and if MMI is short of fully recovered, determines whether medical providers have assigned a permanent impairment rating according to American Medical Association guidelines.
Good Attorney then assesses all other aspects of damages in your case, analyzes the law governing the case, builds a demand package and submits the demand to the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier. In other words, MMI is often used as a trigger for your attorney to fully pursue your financial recovery.